first_imgSteve McClaren admitted new striker Aleksandar Mitrovic was lucky not to get sent off seconds into his Newcastle debut in their 2-2 draw against Southampton at St James’ Park. And amid suggestions of a later elbow by Mitrovic on Maya Yoshida which went apparently unnoticed by Pawson, McClaren will be well aware of his need to curb his new striker’s enthusiasm if he is to get the best from him this season. McClaren, who claimed no knowledge of the second alleged incident, said of the first: “We were quite fortunate he did not get a red there and there would have been no complaints if he did. “I don’t know if he got that much contact but I’m just saying with the present rules of the game… I think in the olden days those kinds of challenges were 10-a-penny. “That’s what he (Mitrovic) is. He certainly doesn’t hold back. He wanted to come on and impress. He’s only a young lad and you can see how strong and direct he is. He is going to be a player.” Mitrovic’s dramatic introduction certainly energised the home fans on a day in which it was another new signing, Gini Wijnaldum, who went the right way about stealing the show when he netted Newcastle’s second in the 48th minute. Wijnaldum, the pick of the home performers, finished off a fine cross from Gabriel Obertan just seconds after Yoshida had been denied a second for Southampton at the other end when his close-range strike was beaten out by Tim Krul. Graziano Pelle had opened the scoring for Saints in the 24th minute before Papiss Cisse bundled an equaliser just before half-time. The visitors salvaged a point through substitute Shane Long in the 79th minute. McClaren added: “I didn’t quite know what to expect and I was absolutely delighted with what I saw – I thought for 75 minutes the team were excellent. We have learned so much and can we get better? Most definitely.” Press Association Erwin Koeman admitted his own satisfaction with a point after Thursday night’s Europa League exertions were tempered by two golden opportunities spurned by striker Sadio Mane in injury time. The acting boss said: “We had some big chances in the last 10 minutes but you have to score to win games so it is mixed feelings that we have. “It is not a bad start but if you are professional and you get the chance to win you have to win. Ten minutes before the end I thought okay, we are happy with a point, but if you see the last 10 minutes then we have to be disappointed.” The Serbian made an instant impression upon replacing Papiss Cisse in the 75th minute, launching a scything challenge on Matt Targett which earned him a yellow card from referee Craig Pawson. Mitrovic’s actions drew criticism from Saints assistant Erwin Koeman – standing in for injured brother Ronald – who insisted: “I don’t think he (Mitrovic) touched him, but if he did then Matthew was in hospital, I think.” last_img read more

first_img Cornwall, Hampshire, Warwickshire and Yorkshire will meet this week in the final of the English Men’s County Championship. Sandwell Park Golf Club in Staffordshire will host the championship for the first time from Friday to Sunday, 23 to 25 September. It will challenge the players with its undulating parkland course, which is regarded as one of the finest in the West Midlands. It is particularly noted for the borrows and speed of the greens. The four title contenders are all past winners. Yorkshire are the most successful county in the history of the competition, winning their 20th championship in 2007. Their team this year includes English amateur champion Dan Brown (image © Leaderboard Photography); Will Whiteoak who was in England’s winning team at the Costa Ballena quadrangular tournament; and Ben Hutchinson, the 2016 winner of the Scrutton Jug for the best combined score in the Brabazon and Berkshire Trophies. Cornwall are the most recent champions, having won for the first time in 2014, and their team includes five members of that side: Joe Cruse, Josh Greenaway, Rob MacGregor, Matt Richards and Conor Wilson. Hampshire, which includes the Isle of Wight and the Channel Islands, are also seeking their second win, having been champions in 1996. They will be led by the captain and county champion Martin Young, who is a former winner of the English mid-amateur championship. Warwickshire are five-times winners, but took their last title in 1990. Their team this year includes former England international Matt Cryer and Max Martin, who was a boy international. The order of play is: Friday, September 23 Match 1: Hampshire v Cornwall Match 2: Warwickshire v Yorkshire Saturday, September 24 Match 1: Match 1 winners from day one v Match 2 losers from day one Match 2: – Match 2 winners from day one v Match 1 losers from day one Sunday September 25 Completion of the round robin. The teams Cornwall: David Kneebone (Captain), Joe Cruse (St Enodoc), Josh Greenaway (Bowood Park), Richard Jasper (Launceston), Rob MacGregor (Tehidy Park), Matt Richards (West Cornwall), Conor Wilson (Perranporth)  Hampshire, IoW and Channel Islands: Martin Young (Captain, Brokenhurst Manor) Mark Burgess (Blackmoor), Ryan Harmer (Shanklin & Sandown), Billy McKenzie (Rowlands Castle), Tom Robson (Rowlands Castle), George Saunders (Meon Valley) Jordan Sundborg (Shanklin & Sandown). Warwickshire: Stuart Bloxham (Captain), Matthew Cryer (Coventry), Tom Ibbertson (Coventry Hearsall), Gareth Jenkins (The Warwickshire), Max Martin (Ladbrook Park), Liam Phipps (Olton), Patrick Ruff (Sutton Coldfield), Ian Winstanley (Handsworth). Yorkshire: Darryl Berry (Captain), Ben Brewster (Wheatley), Dan Brown (Masham), Bailey Gill (Lindrick), Ben Hutchinson (Howley Hall), Kealan Lowe (Wheatley), Steve Robins (Hull), Will Whiteoak (Shipley). Click here for the championship webpage 18 Sep 2016 Four counties seek national title last_img read more